top of page



He nearly became the first Indian to take all 10 wickets in a first-class debut, but it was Rex Rajkumar who dismissed Anwesh Sharma (39) to fold Sikkim's innings in 73.1 overs. Pheiroijam certainly played a part in the dismissal, taking catch from Sharma.

16-year-old Manipur medium pacer Pheiroijam Singh on Wednesday became the fourth Indian to take nine wickets on his first-class debut in the Ranji Trophy plate group match against Sikkim at nearby Rangpo. The teenager who returned with figures of 22-5-69-9 to join an elite roster that included Vasant Ranjane (9/35, 1956-57), Amarjith Singh (9/45, 1971-72) and Sanjay Yadav (9/52, 2019-20), all of whom have taken nine wickets on their first-class debut. Manipur defeated Sikkim by 220. It was the 10th best in the history of topflight cricket and the fourth best by an Indian in his debut.

It was a one-way street for Pheiroijam that caused the collapse on day two as Sikkim continued to drop wickets despite turning 58 without an overnight loss.

He almost became the first Indian to win all 10 wickets on his first-class debut, but it was Rex Rajkumar who sacked Anwesh Sharma (39) to fold Sikkim's sleeves in 73.1 overs. However, Pheiroijam played a role in the sacking - taking Sharma's hold.

England's Albert Moss (10/38 1889-90) and Fitz Hinds (10/36; 1900-01) are the only two in cricketing history to have kicked all 10 wickets in one inning on first-class debuts.

However, Sikkim had the upper hand and took a narrow lead in the first set, reducing Manipur to 59/4 on day two. Overall, Manipur leads with just 25 runs with six wickets intact.

Sumit Singh came back with a count of 3/23 as the Manipur batters struggled to initiate a partnership.

Short results at Rangpo: Manipur 186 and 59/4; 19 overs (Basir Rahman 23; Sumit Singh 3/23). Sikkim 220; 73.1 overs (Sumit Singh 47, Arun Chettri 41; Pheiroijam Singh 9/69). Manipur leads by 25 points. Match to continue.

Near Patna: Arunachal Pradesh 212. Bihar 367/4; 103 overs (Adhiraj Johri 118, Yashasvi Rishav 65, Sakibul Gani 66 coups). Le Bihar lead by 155 points. Faites correspondre pour continuer.

A Nadiad: Mizoram 252 et 37/3; 23 overs. Meghalaya 171; 67,4 overs (Kishan Lyngdoh 40, Rajesh Bishnoi 35 coups; Avinash Yadav 6/39). Mizoram led with 118 points. Competition that continues. PTI TAP TAP TAP KHS KHS.

I recommend visiting 11ic website which offer lots of casino games, slots, lottery and sports that I'm pretty sure you will enjoy so much! Enjoy and have fun bettors!

3 views0 comments


bottom of page