top of page

Cricket World Cup 2023: Fixtures, Teams, Where to Watch, Location

Updated: May 30, 2023

The Cricket World Cup is an international cricket championship tournament that takes place every four years. It is one of the biggest and most prestigious events in the sport of cricket.

The first Cricket World Cup was held in England in 1975, and it has since been held in different parts of the world. The tournament features the world's top cricket-playing nations, who compete in a series of matches over several weeks to determine the champion.

The format of the Cricket World Cup has evolved over the years, but the current format includes 10 teams who play each other in a round-robin format before the top four teams advance to the knockout stage, which includes two semi-finals and a final. The winning team is crowned as the world champion of cricket.

The Cricket World Cup is organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC), which is the governing body for the sport of cricket. The tournament attracts millions of viewers from around the world, and it is considered to be one of the most important events in the world of sports.

The upcoming ICC Men's Cricket World Cup in 2023 will be the 13th edition of the tournament and is scheduled to take place from 5th October to 19th November of the same year. It is noteworthy that this will be the first time that India will be hosting the entire event. Detailed information on the ICC World Cup 2023 schedule, teams, venues, timetable, PDF, points table, rankings, and predictions for winning will be available here.

The 2023 ODI Cricket World Cup, held every four years, is the largest cricket tournament globally, played in a fifty-over format. The BCCI has initiated plans to ensure that the tournament is a success in India.


Organizer International Cricket Council

Cricket Format One Day International

Format Round-Robin and Knockout

Opening Match 5 October 2023

Semi Final 1 TBD

Semi Final 2 TBD

Final Match 19 November 2023

Participants Teams 10

Total Matches played 48

Fixtures and Schedule

Until the last ten teams have qualified, it is not possible to reveal the fixtures and schedule for the 2023 World Cup. Nevertheless, based on the proposed date of the final (November 26), it is probable that the semi-finals will occur on Tuesday 21 and Thursday 23. As for the round-robin group stage, there will likely be 45 matches starting in early or mid-October, with at least one game every day.








New Zealand

South Africa



A combined total of 10 teams will be determined by the ICC World Cup Super League and the World Cup Qualifier 2022-23.

Available platforms to view the event

Every match of the tournament will be shown live on television worldwide by Disney Star, the ICC's global media partner, and its authorized broadcasters. The Star Sports network in India will air the English global feed for all games, and in addition to the global stream, the competition will be broadcast in Hindi, Tamil, Telugu, and Kannada on Star Sports, with live streaming available on the Disney+ Hotstar website.

In Australia, the host country, all games will be broadcast live on Fox Sports and Kayo, with Australia matches and a few others also available on Nine, 9GEM, and 9Now. Live coverage will also be available in New Zealand on the conventional channels of Sky Sport and the Sky Go app. Willow TV will broadcast the action in the USA and Canada, while Sky Sports Cricket and Sky Sports Main Event channels will offer live coverage in the UK, accessible through the NOW and Sky Go apps.

Non-live digital coverage, including five-minute highlights available worldwide and in-play clips and highlights on the Indian subcontinent, will be offered by the ICC Facebook and Instagram accounts. Short-form in-play and highlights videos will also be shown by BBC Sport in the UK and Spark Sport in New Zealand. Live commentary from the match locations will be broadcast on various FM channels such as ABC (Australia), BBC (UK), and Shamal Radio (Pakistan), with audio-only content available on Digital 2 Sports' online platform and Prasar Bharati in India.


India will be the sole host of the 13th edition of the ICC World Cup, which will take place at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Gujarat, according to reports. This marks the first time that India will host the entire tournament.

2023 World Cup format

The 2023 version will adhere to the format used in the 2019 version, which comprises a round-robin stage followed by semi-finals and a final. During the round-robin stage, all ten teams will play against each other once. A win will be valued at two points, while a draw or no outcome will be valued at one point. The best four teams will progress to the semi-finals, where the top-ranked team will face the fourth-ranked team, and the second and third-ranked teams will compete against each other.

Come back to us for the latest updates on cricket news and gaming-related information, exclusively here at 11ic.

4 views0 comments


bottom of page