top of page


Updated: Dec 27, 2023

Test Cricket Sessions

Cricket is generally divided into two formats: One Day Cricket and Test Cricket. The highest form of the game is also the longest in terms of duration. It is the most glamorous format out there as it tests a player's skill and temper to the limit. Cricket has a long and illustrious history which explains why the rules of the game have been updated countless times throughout history.

What is Test Cricket?

In the early days of play, a test match can take up to six or seven days to reach a verdict. It was then decided that a two-leg test match would be held for five days. The third and fourth days of a Test match were sometimes referred to as "rest days", but they have been discontinued since the 1997 India-West Indies encounter in Bridgetown.

A typical day of testing consists of three two-hour sessions, with a 40-minute lunch and a 20-minute tea break in between.

A typical day in Test cricket consists of three 30-over sessions. For lunch there are 40 minutes between sessions and for tea there are 20 minutes.

In test cricket, each team strikes twice. In the next inning, if team X bats first and team Y bats second, the same order is followed. When Team Y outscores Team X in the first inning, it is referred to as an overtime lead; otherwise, it is considered a backlog deficit. If Team X scores and Team Y is full court with more than 200 runs remaining to chase, Team X's captain may order a follow-on in which Team Y hits again with an aim to close the gap and gain advantage over X. Team captain makes decision to pursue follow-up.

Test Cricket Match Rules

Here are some basic rules that have been used in Test cricket matches.

Beyond the Limits

A minimum of 90 overs must be thrown in one day for Trials, with a minimum of 15 overs per hour allowed on other days. A minimum of 75 overs is required for the duration of the match on the final day. In the event of rain or other circumstances preventing the start of play on time, the allocated overs may be shortened or lengthened.

If a team is eliminated or if the match of the day ends with a team declaring its innings, 2 overs will be deducted from the total number of overs to be played that day.

New Balls

The new ball is available every 80 overs in the game. If the conditions of use of the ball change and it fails the loop test, it can be replaced with a ball of comparable quality.

Decision Review System

The purpose of the DRS was to rethink the judgments of on-field officials. The ICC formally introduced the Decision Review System (DRS) at a match between New Zealand and Pakistan in Dunedin in November 2009.

Initially, teams were limited to two scores in an innings, but additional scores were recommended after 80 overs. There are now no ratings added, and teams have 2 ratings per inning, with no additional ratings lost in the event of an umpire decision on an LBW call.


The lights are only used to allow for a full day of play, as the game has always been played in natural light. The International Cricket Council (ICC) has allowed test cricket matches to be staged during the day and night using a pink ball in a bid to boost the game's popularity. In November 2015, Australia played their first day-night Test, beating New Zealand by 3 wickets.


In this blog, we have shared lots of information about Test Cricket Matches. The main query "How many sessions in Test cricket" is also removed here. We know there are huge cricket fans all over the world who always want to know more about cricket, you have come to the right place, we have shared many cricket blogs, you can also visit them.

I recommend visiting 11ic website which offer lots of casino games, slots, lottery and sports that I'm pretty sure you will enjoy so much! Enjoy and have fun bettors!

9 views0 comments


bottom of page