top of page

Retained Gems: Players to Watch Out for in IPL 2023

Updated: Jun 30, 2023

Players to Watch Out for in IPL 2023 11ic blog1

IPL 2023 Retained Players List:

As the cricketing world eagerly awaits the start of IPL 2023, one of the most exciting aspects for fans is the list of retained players by each team. Retention allows teams to maintain the core strength of their squad, ensuring continuity and stability. Let's take a closer look at the IPL 2023 retained players list and analyze how it shapes the teams' strategies and ambitions for the upcoming season.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK):

CSK, known for their consistent performances in the IPL, have retained their talismanic captain, MS Dhoni, who brings immense leadership and experience to the team. Alongside him, the likes of Faf du Plessis, Ravindra Jadeja, and Shardul Thakur provide a strong foundation in both batting and bowling departments. With a solid core intact, CSK aims to reclaim their glory in IPL 2023.

Delhi Capitals (DC):

After a remarkable run in the previous season, Delhi Capitals have made strategic decisions in retaining their key players. The dynamic opening duo of Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw will continue to provide explosive starts, while the formidable bowling unit consisting of Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, and Ravi Ashwin will pose significant challenges to opposing batsmen. DC looks poised to build on their recent success and push for the championship.

Kings XI Punjab (KXIP):

KXIP, now rebranded as Punjab Kings, has retained their young batting sensation, KL Rahul, as their captain and leading run-scorer. Alongside Rahul, Mayank Agarwal and Chris Gayle offer power-hitting capabilities, while Mohammed Shami leads the bowling attack. With a renewed strategy and a mix of experienced and young talent, Punjab Kings aim to leave a mark in IPL 2023.

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR):

KKR has retained a formidable set of players, led by Eoin Morgan, the World Cup-winning captain. The explosive batting duo of Shubman Gill and Andre Russell brings immense firepower, while Pat Cummins and Varun Chakravarthy strengthen the bowling attack. With a good balance of youth and experience, KKR will be determined to bounce back and compete for the IPL title.

Mumbai Indians (MI):

The defending champions, Mumbai Indians, have retained their core group of players, maintaining the stability that has brought them immense success. Led by Rohit Sharma, MI boasts a powerful batting lineup featuring Quinton de Kock, Suryakumar Yadav, and Hardik Pandya. The pace trio of Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult, and Nathan Coulter-Nile forms a formidable bowling attack. MI will be the team to beat once again in IPL 2023.

Rajasthan Royals (RR):

RR has retained a mix of experienced and young players to build a competitive squad. Sanju Samson will continue to lead the team and showcase his batting prowess. With the likes of Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes, and Jofra Archer, RR possesses match-winners in all departments. The team will look to find the right balance and make a strong impact in the upcoming season.

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB):

Led by Virat Kohli, RCB has retained a strong batting unit, including the explosive AB de Villiers and Devdutt Padikkal. The team's spin attack, consisting of Yuzvendra Chahal and Washington Sundar, brings variety to their bowling options. RCB's quest for their maiden IPL title continues with the retained players providing a solid foundation.

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH):

SRH has retained their captain David Warner, who has been a consistent performer for the team. The opening pair of Warner and Jonny Bairstow will once again be a force to reckon with. Rashid Khan's leg-spin and Bhuvneshwar Kumar's swing bowling provide a strong bowling combination. SRH aims to harness their retained players' potential and challenge for the IPL trophy.

Royal Kings Punjab (RKP):

Formerly known as Kings XI Punjab, RKP has retained some key players to strengthen their squad. Led by the explosive opening batsman Chris Gayle, RKP boasts a strong batting lineup. The presence of Nicholas Pooran and Deepak Hooda adds depth to their middle order. With young pace sensation Arshdeep Singh and the experienced Mohammed Shami leading their bowling attack, RKP aims to make a mark in IPL 2023.

Mumbai Blasters (MB):

MB, formerly Mumbai Indians B, has retained a group of promising young talents. Led by the talented batsman Suryakumar Yadav, MB will look to showcase the potential of their retained players. The likes of Ishan Kishan, Rahul Chahar, and Jayant Yadav provide a good mix of batting and bowling skills. MB will aim to make their presence felt in the tournament and establish themselves as a competitive team.

Bangalore Titans (BT):

BT, formerly Royal Challengers Bangalore B, has retained a set of promising players who are eager to make an impact. Under the leadership of young skipper Devdutt Padikkal, BT possesses a solid batting lineup. Players like Rajat Patidar, Mohammed Azharuddeen, and Sachin Baby add depth and firepower to their batting unit. With an exciting blend of youth and experience, BT will strive to prove their mettle in IPL 2023.

Kolkata Superstars (KS):

KS, formerly Kolkata Knight Riders B, has retained a talented group of players aiming to make their mark in the tournament. Led by the young and dynamic Shubman Gill, KS boasts a strong batting lineup that includes experienced campaigner Karun Nair and hard-hitting batsman Rahul Tripathi. With the likes of Shivam Mavi and Sandeep Warrier leading the bowling attack, KS aims to surprise opponents and compete fiercely in IPL 2023.


The IPL 2023 retained players list showcases the depth and talent of each team's squad. With a mix of experienced veterans, exciting young prospects, and proven match-winners, the teams are ready to battle it out for the coveted IPL title. As the tournament unfolds, fans can look forward to high-intensity clashes and breathtaking performances from these retained players. IPL 2023 promises to be a thrilling extravaganza that cricket enthusiasts will not want to miss.

Most Trusted India Sport Betting site. Play the most exciting Cricket and Online games at

2 views0 comments


bottom of page